Dr Deborah Rowe

Dr Deborah Rowe (Ngāi Tahu) holds a joint appointment between Auckland District Health Board as a Nurse Consultant and the University of Auckland as a Lecturer. She also works as a registered nurse at the Women’s Health Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (2005–present). Before this she was a Clinical Charge Nurse at National Women’s Hospital (1997–2005). Deborah has recently completed a PhD in Nursing at the University of Auckland. Since registration she has completed a Master of Health Science at the Liggins Institute of Research, a Master of Management at the University of Auckland (2006), a Postgraduate Diploma in Health Management at the University of Auckland (2004) and a Bachelor of Health Science.  

Deb is currently Chair of the Māori Advisory Committee National Screening Unit, Deputy chair of the Ethics Committee for Assisted Reproduction and a committee member on other Ministry of Health Committees.

Deputy Chairperson


Dr Jo Ann Walton

Jo, who is a Professor of Nursing at Victoria University of Wellington, was voted on to the Council in the 2011 elections. She has enjoyed her time on the Council and is pleased to step up to the Deputy Chair position. Jo’s nursing background encompasses a range of academic and clinical posts and she has governance and management experience in the education sector. Having been in nursing a long time, she says it’s great to be able to make a contribution at the big picture level – “to guide, shape, monitor and encourage innovation in nursing”.

Council Members 


Catherine Abel-Pattinson

The Minister of Health has appointed Catherine Abel-Pattinson as a member of the Nursing Council. For the past twenty years Catherine has worked extensively within the public and private healthcare sectors in clinical, education and managerial roles. A registered nurse, Catherine also holds an MBA and has been in line for numerous awards. She was a Johnson & Johnson Scholarship recipient in 2009; attended the European Health Leaders Programme at Insead University in France; and was a runner-up for the Glenys Baldick Memorial Award in 2008 for Emerging Leaders in Health. 


Catherine Byrne

Catherine Byrne graduated as a Registered Nurse in 1984 after completing her training in Taranaki. She has a postgraduate Diploma in Nursing. Catherine has extensive practice experience, both here in New Zealand and overseas. Her current role is the Nurse Unit Manager at Starship Children’s Hospital. Catherine has worked with Council in her role of assessing portfolios against competency standards and has contributed to nursing on a national level through her work with the Job Evaluation Review Committee. She was appointed to the Council in September 2009 after being a successful candidate in the Council’s VOTE09 elections. Catherine was again successful in the Council’s VOTE11 elections for a three-year term.


Bede Carran

Bede Carran is a lay member of the Council. He has worked as both a lawyer and a chartered accountant. His professional background includes working in tax, corporate finance and assurance. He has held a number of governance positions, including as a council member of another health regulatory authority. Bede is currently employed in local government and lives in Waimate, Canterbury.   

Fereti To'a image

To'a Fereti

To’a is a Ministerial appointment. She was born in Samoa, grew up in Dunedin & has had a long and distinguished career as a nurse.  She holds a Master of Nursing and is currently the Clinical Nurse Director for the Division of Medicine & Clinical Support Services, Counties Manukau Health which requires her to provide professional governance and leadership for nurses within her Division.  To’a’s specialty is in renal and haemodialysis, working in a variety of roles within this field for CMH, ADHB, and has also done some work with the National Kidney Foundation in Samoa.  To’a is particularly interested in the health needs of Pacific people and feels that her clinical leadership and managerial experience, combined with her Samoan cultural values, gives her a greater understanding of what is needed to influence and affect change for positive Pacific outcomes.

Hopson Joanne

Joanne Hopson

Joanne was the only newly elected member to join Council following last year’s elections.

Joanne completed her Bachelor of Nursing at the Southern Institute of Technology and then moved to Auckland where she completed her Master of Health

Sciences in Advanced Nursing. Her areas of expertise are cardiology, emergency and recovery.

She has worked in many different areas of nursing across New Zealand as well as Australia and believes in having high standards.

“I am aware of the need to have robust policies and procedures which must be adhered to.  As a nurse working ‘on the floor’, I know what challenges and pressures nurses face and the need to support and help each other.  Having recent emergency experience, I am familiar with the health expectations of patients and also their expectations of the nursing profession.  I am passionate about nursing and will bring a fresh, vibrant, fair, and open minded approach to Council.”


Patricia Seymour

The Minister of Health has appointed Pat Seymour as a lay member of the Nursing Council. Pat has been involved in health and education from an advocacy perspective for more than 35 years Initially involved with Plunket after the birth of her children, she followed this later with involvement in early childhood education, hospital and health boards, the Early Childhood Development Unit and conservation via the QEII Trust. She is currently the Chair of Environment and Policy for the Gisborne District Council, a unitary authority.

Pat completed a Diploma of Business Studies in Endorsed Health Management while chair of the Tairawhiti Health Board.

Return to top ^

Council Members login