Enrolled nurse

Enrolled Nurse emblem

To become an enrolled nurse, you must successfully complete the 18-month Diploma of Enrolled Nursing (level 5 on the New Zealand Qualification Authority framework).

There are nine Diploma of Enrolled Nursing programmes offered in New Zealand. These programmes have been accredited by the Nursing Council. 

For further details of the Diploma of Enrolled Nursing, please see the  Schools Handbook. The following sections will be particularly useful: 

  • Section 4: Curriculum framework for the diploma in enrolled nursing
  • Section 5: General policies for enrolled nurse and registered nurse
  • Section 6: Registration
  • Section 7: Examination
  • Appendix 5: Education programme standards for the enrolled nurse scope of practice
  • Appendix 9: Requirements for registration in the enrolled nurse scope of practice – information for students.

Return to top ^