Tūtaki i te Kaunihera
Meet the Council

The Council consists of a mixture of members appointed by the Minister of Health, and members elected by nurses. Under the Health Practitioners Competence Assurance Act 2003, the Council is required to elect a Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson from its members. In meeting its commitment to the principle of Pātuitanga (Partnership), and in order to facilitate goals of shared decision-making, co-governance, and demonstrated leadership through partnership, Council policies require that at least one of these positions is filled by a Māori member of the Council.

Ngaira Harker – Chairperson

As Nurse Director of Māori Health, she oversees and advises on Māori health workforce initiatives, Māori nursing scholarships and networks with the many nursing groups both within the DHB and Māori health services.

She initiated the development of a new internship, Tuakana Teina, which saw seven university students spend their summer at HBDHB working on projects to improve Māori health outcomes. “It was fantastic to have so many talented young Māori health students working with us and it bodes well for future recruitment.” HBDHB is working towards increasing the total Māori workforce from 14 to 16 percent to deliver more effective health services. “We have some fantastic Māori nurse leaders however we could always do with more, so it’s part of my role to mentor nurses along a leadership pathway. We are working on ensuring that we have a diverse workforce that supports the diversity that exists in our community. Having increased participation at a leadership level for Māori is essential in creating and supporting Māori models of health and ultimately improved health outcomes for our communities.

Ngaira has had a diverse nursing and education career spanning New Zealand and the United States of America. She is from Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairoa and has a large whanau living in Wairoa. Currently Ngaira has been seconded to lead the COVID-19 Vaccination roll-out within Hawkes Bay.

Marion Guy

(RN, PGDip, Master of Nursing, QSO, MInstD)

Marion is a registered nurse with 30 years of experience in the health sector across governance, leadership and clinical roles.

She graduated with a Masters of Nursing through Auckland University in 2010.

Her previous governance roles include being a member of the National Health Board, a board member of the Western Bay of Plenty PHO and a board member of the International Council of Nurses. Currently, Marion is an elected member of the Bay of Plenty DHB.

She has had several leadership roles within NZNO beginning with chair of the College of Practice Nurses, vice president for 2 years then president for 7 years on two different occasions. Clinically, Marion works in General Practice and the Out-patients Department at Tauranga Hospital, both on a casual basis.

This broad range of experience and clinical knowledge will be invaluable for her role on Nursing Council. Marion has received the award of honour from NZNO and has a Queen's Service Order for services to Nursing.

Iosefa Tiata Paituli

Iosefa T Paituli is a Minister at Mt. Roskill’s Congregational Christian Church – of Samoa. He is married with four children and seven grandchildren, has a master’s in theology and is completing a master's in entrepreneurialism.

Iosefa worked as a financial controller for the Church in Samoa for six years and was their chief accountant for five years. He has also worked for the Bank of Western Samoa in Samoa, the Bank of New Zealand and Lion Breweries before attending Theological College in Samoa. Iosefa is passionate about his community. He was inspired to help those he met who found communicating with their healthcare providers frustrating and stressful. Today he is very involved in advocating for members of his community and being a conduit for information for those experiencing language and cultural barriers.

Iosefa enjoys reading and all kinds of sport, especially tennis. He practises yoga to meditate and clear his mind, preaches and loves to serve voluntarily. Iosefa is appointed by the Minister of Health as a lay person member of the Council.

Emmanuel (Manu) Pelayo

Manu practiced as a Registered Nurse in the Philippines before emigrating to New Zealand in 2009. He was then offered a full sponsorship and a nursing position by Counties Manukau DHB in acute orthopaedics.

He has held positions in the public and private sectors as a staff nurse in Medicine, Surgery and ICU, also as a Research Coordinator, Duty Manager, Clinical Nurse Advisor and Projects Improvement Manager.

In 2018, he was appointed as a Charge Nurse Manager to set up an acute medical ward in Middlemore, where he had written and implemented a new model of care.

Manu was previously the Regional Clinical Lead for the Upper North Island for HealthCare NZ prior to joining the Ministry of Health as a Principal Clinical Advisor for Regulatory Assurance.

He has a Master of Nursing degree from the University of Auckland, and is studying Te Reo Māori at Unitec.

Manu is an elected health practitioner member of the Council.

Hariata Vercoe

Born and raised in Rotorua within a large whānau, the marae has always been Hariata's place to learn and cement the values that ground her. Hariata's whakapapa is Te Arawa on her Dad's side and  Te Rarawa on her Mum's side.

Prior to becoming CEO for Korowai Aroha Health Centre in 2012 Hariata's background was in conservation and forestry. She has an extensive background in finance, HR and the administration sector. Hariata's interest is in Māori Health and ensuring the health system is accessible, affordable, culturally appropriate, and inviting to whānau.

As a provider within the Te Arawa Whanau Ora Collective and the Te Arawa Covid Response, Hariata has first-hand insight into meeting the needs of the whānau she serves. Hariata also serves as a trustee on the Rotorua Community Hospice.

Dr Dianne Wepa

Dr Dianne Wepa originates from Hastings and her iwi is Ngāti Kahungunu.

Dianne’s PhD focused on how Māori engaged with healthcare services.

She has published journal articles and textbooks, and provided keynote presentations on Cultural Safety and Clinical Supervision.

Dianne is a registered social worker with interests in mental health, youth health and Māori health.

Dianne’s current governance roles include the National Animal Ethics Committee, Audiologist Society Complaints’ Board and Nursing Council of New Zealand.

Dianne teaches a range of undergraduate and postgraduate courses such as Māori Mental Health at AUT and First Peoples’ Health at the University of South Australia. Dianne is currently supervising research students on topics such as the impact of digital technology on suicide prevention, the social impact of dementia and fathers' use of Kangaroo Care with newborn babies.