Tapuhi kua whakauru
Enrolled nurse

To become an enrolled nurse, you must successfully complete the 18-month diploma of enrolled nursing (level 5 on the New Zealand Qualification Authority framework).

A list of Council accredited diploma of enrolled nursing programmes offered in New Zealand is available in the download section on this page.

For further details of the diploma of enrolled nursing, please see the Schools Handbook.

The following sections will be particularly relevant:

Section 4: Curriculum framework for the enrolled nurse scope of practice

Section 5: General policies for enrolled nurse and registered nurse

Section 6: Registration

Section 7: State Final Examination

Appendix 5: Education programme standards for the enrolled nurse scope of practice

Appendix 9: Requirements for registration in the enrolled nurse scope of practice – information for students.